

10<sup>th</sup> June, 2025

## The Fair Trading Commission Announces the Winners of the Secondary School Essay Competition 2025

The Fair Trading Commission ('FTC') is pleased to announce the winners of its Secondary School Essay Competition which concluded on April 30<sup>th</sup> 2025. This competition remains a cornerstone of the Commission's public and advocacy efforts, aimed at increasing awareness of the benefits of competition. Designed to engage secondary school students between the ages of 16 and 19, the essay competition encourages the exploration of critical economic concepts that shape market dynamics and consumer welfare with the intention being to raise our future leaders' awareness of the benefits of fair competition.

Thus, participants were invited to write an essay on one of the following two topics:

1.Describe the ways in which competition policy promotes an environment for innovation among firms in Trinidad and Tobago.

2.Explore why innovation is crucial for businesses and how it can provide them with a competitive edge over their rivals.

We extend sincere congratulations to all students who participated and especially to the following schools for their outstanding contributions: Presentation College San Fernando, Cowen Hamilton Secondary School, A.S.J.A Girls' College San Fernando, Holy Faith Convent Couva, St. François Girls' College, Trinity College Moka, St. Stephen's College, for their excellent essay submissions.

It is with great pleasure that the Commission announces the following winners:

First Place: Mr. Justin Ishwar, Presentation College San Fernando

Second Place: Ms. Gabriella Bartholomew, Cowen Hamilton Secondary School

Third Place: Ms. Sameera Ramsingh, A.S.J.A Girls' College San Fernando

The Commission also wishes to express heartfelt appreciation to the dedicated first and second round markers/judges who played a pivotal role in ensuring the integrity and success of the competition:

## First Markers/Judges

- a) Ms. Joy Francis, Team Lead, Trade Unit, TTMA
- b) Dr. Kevin Fleary, Fulltime Faculty, ALJGSB
- c) Mr. Rommell Hippolyte, Research Economist, CCC

## Second Markers/Judges

- a) Dr. Ronald Ramkissoon, Chairman, FTC
- b) Mr. Bevan Narinesingh, Executive Director, FTC
- c) Ms. Nikita Mayers Chief Economist, Fair Competition Division, BFTC

Special thanks are also extended to the Office of the Chief Education Officer, Ministry of Education (MOE), the dedicated staff of the FTC and the many committed teachers who encouraged student participation. Your support was instrumental in making this competition a resounding success.

We thank you all!





\*Email: tandtftc@gmail.com \*Website: www.tandtftc.org