

21st May, 2024

The Fair Trading Commission Announces the Winners for the Secondary School Essay Competition 2024

The Fair Trading Commission ('FTC') is about to commemorate a noteworthy milestone: ten years of dedicated service to the promoting and advancement of fair and competitive business practices in Trinidad and Tobago. Over the past decade, the FTC has been working steadily to uphold and maintain free and fair competition and this anniversary provides us with an opportunity to reflect on our past, celebrate the present, and envision our future with a renewed commitment to our mission.

One successful initiative launched by FTC has been its Secondary School Essay Competition. This has formed part of the FTC's advocacy toolkit geared towards engaging and encouraging secondary school students to gain a deeper understanding of competition, raising our future leaders' awareness of the benefits of fair competition, its influence on market structures (supply and demand side) and the fostering of a market environment that is both supportive and responsive to consumer needs.

It is with this backdrop that the FTC is pleased to announce the winners of its Secondary Schools Essay Competition 2023/2024.

Secondary Students between the ages of 16-19 were invited to asked to write an essay on one of the following two topics:

1.What effect does a fair competition enforcement regime have on my country? 2.Explore within the context of the local economy the statement "A cornerstone of a successful market economy is the existence of a "competition culture".

Accolades are in order for the participating students from Open Bible High School, St. Augustine Girls' High School, A.S.J.A. Girls' College, San Fernando, St. Mary's College, Northeastern College, South East Port-of-Spain Secondary School, Holy Faith Convent, Penal and St. Joseph's Convent, San Fernando for their excellent essay submissions. It is with great pleasure that the Commission announces the following winners:

First Place: Ms. Aliya Mc Clean, Northeastern College

Second Place: Ms. Karishma Khemraj, St Augustine Girls' High School

Third Place: Ms. Mikayla Lalla, St Augustine Girls' High School

Additionally, the Commission wishes to express its gratitude to the first and second markers/judges who helped make the competition a success, namely:

First Markers/Judges

a)Ms. Joy Francis, Team Lead, Trade Unit, TTMA

b)Dr. Kevin Fleary, Fulltime Faculty, ALJGSB

c)Mr. Rommell Hippolyte, Research Economist, CCC

Second Markers/Judges

a)Dr. Ronald Ramkissoon, Chairman, FTC

b)Mr. Bevan Narinesingh, Executive Director, FTC

c)Dr. Troy A. Waterman, Director, Fair Competition Division, BFTC

This essay competition's success would not have been possible without the support of the Office of the Chief Education Officer, Ministry of Education (MOE), the devoted staff of the Commission and the teachers who made sure that as many students as possible participated in this competition.

We are appreciative!



Contact Us *Tel: (868) 623-2931 ext. 2202/2209/2212 * Hotline: (868) 765-9939 *Email: <u>tandtftc@gmail.com</u> *Website: <u>www.tandtftc.org</u>