

30th June, 2023

The Fair Trading Commission Announces the Winners for the Secondary School Essay Competition 2023

The Fair Trading Commission ("the Commission") is pleased to announce the winners of its Secondary School Essay Competition which was concluded on April 28th, 2023. This essay competition continues to be a key component of the Commission's efforts to increase awareness of the benefits of competition.

Secondary school students between the ages of 16-19 years were challenged to broaden their knowledge of Competition and were asked to write an essay on one of the following two topics:

1. How can competition among Trinidad and Tobago firms/ business enterprises benefit the economy?

2. Explore the link between competition among Trinidad and Tobago firms/ business enterprises and poverty reduction?

Commendations are in order for the participating students of Presentation College Chaguanas, St Joseph's Convent St. Joseph, Manzanilla Secondary School, St Anthony's College, St. Joseph Convent San Fernando, Goodwood Secondary School, Holy Faith Convent Couva, Naparima College and Northeastern College for their participation and the high quality essays received.

It is with great pleasure that the Commission announces the following winners:

First place: Mr. Mikael Taylor, Presentation College Chaguanas

Second place: Ms. Sanura Toppin, Holy Faith Convent Couva

Third place: Ms. Aliya Mc Clean, Northeastern College

The Commission also wishes to specifically thank the first and second markers/judges who contributed to the competition's success, namely:

First Markers/Judges

a) Dr. Mahindra Ramesh Ramdeen, Chief Executive Officer, Trinidad and Tobago Manufacturers' Association (TTMA)

b) Dr. Troy Waterman, Acting Director, Barbados Fair Trading Commission (BFTC)

c) Mr. Rommell Hippolyte, Research Economist, CARICOM Competition Commission (CCC)

Second Markers/Judges

a) Dr. Ronald Ramkissoon, Chairman, Trinidad and Tobago Fair Trading Commission (TTFTC)

b) Dr. Miguel Dindial, Lecturer in International Business, Arthur Lok Jack Global School of Business (ALJGSB)

c) Mr. Bevan Narinesingh, Executive Director, Trinidad and Tobago Fair Trading Commission (TTFTC)

This essay competition would not have been possible without the support of the office of the Chief Education Officer, Ministry of Education (MOE), the committed staff of the Commission and the teachers who ensured that as many students as possible participated in the competition.

We thank you!



Contact Us: *Tel: 623-2931 ext. 2202/2209/2212 * Email: tandtftc@gmail.com *Website: www.tandtftc.org